Share on :

17th JBM "Leaders of Tomorrow" Gala 125th Anniversary Special: Finalists announced!
Dévoilement des finalistes !

05 October 2023 News

17th edition of the JBM "Leaders of Tomorrow" Gala

125 years special :

Finalists announced!

The JBM would like to congratulate the finalists of its annual "Leaders of Tomorrow" Gala.The event aims to highlight the excellence of JBM members within the legal profession, on the one hand, and to celebrate Montreal's up-and-coming legal talent on the other, in a grandiose event!

"It is with great pride and enthusiasm that we announce today the finalists for the prestigious JBM Lawyer of the Year awards. Their exceptional careers and dedication to excellence are a perfect illustration of the richness of our Montreal legal community. It gives me great pleasure to invite you to join us on November 30, on the occasion of the JBM's 125th anniversary, to learn more about the winners in each category. Don 't miss this unique opportunity to celebrate their success and to contribute to the greatness of our legal profession," says JBM President Joey Suri.

Throughout the selection process, the following criteria were evaluated to determine the finalists and ultimate winners: excellence of record, professional achievements, personal achievements, vision and outlook, and social commitment. For the first time this year, lawyers specializing in technology and intellectual property will also have the opportunity to have a separate category.

Congratulations to all the finalists

Pro bono / Social involvement

Me Daphné K. Rosalbert, Laurentian Bank of Canada

Me David Searle, Centre de justice de proximité Grand Montréal

Me Juliette Jan, Montreal Legal Aid

Family law

Me Jessy Villalta, Choquette Villalta

Me Maxime A. Pouliot, Maxime A. Pouliot | Lawyer and mediator

Me Roxanne Charpentier, Avocats Juripop

Litigation practice / Government lawyer

Me Francis Legault-Mayrand, Ministry of Justice

Me François Lavigne-Massicotte, Autorité des marchés financiers

Me Sandra Joseph, Centre de services scolaires de Montréal

Civil and commercial litigation

Alexandra Hébert, Borden Ladner Gervais

Me Anne-Julie Asselin, Trudel Johnston & Lespérance

Me Nathalie Boulanger, Langlois avocats

Corporate law

Caroline Stephens, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt

Me France Camille De Mers, Lavery, De Billy

Me Shereen Cook, Dentons Canada

Criminal and penal law

Me Amanda Santache, Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions

Me Laurence Juillet St-Jean, Battista Turcot Israel

Alternative careers

Me Angélique Adam, Phoenix-GMI

Me Étienne Chénier-Laflèche, Convention against Torture Initiative

Katarina Daniels, Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg

Labor and administrative law

LéoParent-Sirois, Murdoch Rodrigue Archambault Avocats

Me Mathilde Baril-Jannard, Laroche Martin (Service juridique CSN)

Me Sandrine Mainville, Borden Ladner Gervais

Technology law and intellectual property

Me Eliane Ellbogen, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin

Me Toufic Adlouni, Renno & Cie

Vanessa Henri, Henri & Wolf

The JBM would like to thank the 17 members of the 2023 Preselection Committee who had the difficult task of choosing the finalists in each category from among the many applications received:

  • The Honourable Sophie Bourque, Québec Superior Court Judge
  • The Honourable Sylvain Lussier, Justice of the Superior Court of Quebec
  • The Honourable Bernard Synnott, Justice of the Superior Court of Quebec
  • The Honourable Mélanie Jacques, Judge of the Court of Québec
  • The Honourable Élizabeth Corte, Lawyer and Chief Justice of the Court of Québec 2009-2016
  • Me Philippe-André Tessier, President of the Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse
  • Me Tamara Davis, Executive Director of the Bar of Montreal
  • Ariane Charbonneau, Executive Director, Éducaloi
  • Me Anne-Marie Santorineos, Executive Director, Justice Pro Bono
  • Me Caroline Blache, President of CAIJ
  • Me Frederick W. Headon, Lawyer, Air Canada
  • Mylène Lemieux, Legal Counsel, Cisco and former President of JBM
  • Me Caroline Larouche, Lawyer, Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions and former President of the JBM
  • Me Robert Dorion, Partner, Gowling WLG
  • Me Luc Deshaies, Partner Gowling WLG
  • Me Amir Kashdaran, Lawyer Delegatus
  • Me Jocelyn Auger, Partner Fasken Martineau DuMoulin

Selection of winners

For the ultimate selection of the winners, the JBM called upon its Board of Governors, made up of such impressive legal personalities as :

  • The Honourable Manon Savard, Chief Justice of Quebec
  • The Honourable Lucie Rondeau, Chief Justice of the Court of Québec
  • The Honourable Gianni Cuffaro, President of the Municipal Court of Montreal
  • Catherine Claveau, Bâtonnière du Québec
  • Me David Ettedgui, Bâtonnier de Montréal
  • Me Sylvain Bourassa, President of the Tribunal administratif du Québec
  • Me Robert Steinman, President of the Lord Reading Law Association;
  • Me François D. Ramsay, General Counsel - Legal Affairs - Hydro-Québec and former President of JBM
  • Me Antoine Aylwin, Partner Fasken Martineau DuMoulin and former President of the JBM

The winners will be announced at the JBM "Leaders of Tomorrow" Gala on November 30 at the Marriott Château Champlain. Join us to celebrate and cheer on the finalists by registering here.

For further information, please contact

Adam Rachidi-Alaoui

Communications and Public Relations Manager | 514 954-6936 |